Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
Wyoming Statute requires that all property be listed, valued and assessed as of January 1st of each year. Notices of Value must reflect the owner of record as of that date and be mailed on or before the fourth Monday in April.
Yes. Wyoming Statute requires that all persons responsible for determining value for property assessment purposes be certified by the state as a property tax appraiser. Each appraiser must complete coursework in appraisal on an ongoing basis to acquire and maintain this certification.
We physically inspect all properties within Albany County every 6 years. We also inspect properties when a building permit is issued or address assigned. Inspections are done upon request of the property owner and as deemed necessary if you disagree with the value established by the Assessor's office.
You must contact the Assessor's office within 30 days of the mail date on the Notice of Value. Please provide any information that you would like the Assessor to consider regarding the value of your property.
Many factors affect market value: a change in property characteristics, supply and demand, interest rates, labor and material costs, etc.
Improvements consist of buildings, concrete, sheds, etc. These are considered improvements to the land.
Real property is defined as land and all things attached to the land.
Industry accepted mass appraisal procedures and methodologies are used. Items such as location, property characteristics, sales information, etc. are analyzed each year to determine the estimated fair market value.
Wyoming Statute 34-1-142 requires a statement of consideration be completed whenever a deed, contract or other document transferring legal title is recorded. Information such as the date of the sale, purchase price, terms of sale, etc. are required. This information is not public.
Persons appealing their assessment may review the sales that were used to determine the fair market value of their property. The review period is limited to the 30-day appeal period. The property owners may not further disclose the sales to other persons. The sales information may be introduced during a formal appeal, but further disclosure is prohibited.
The Assessor's office is happy to provide you with the characteristics and sketches on file for your property at anytime. However, the fair market value of your property is based on prior years sales information and that sales information can only be release during the 30-day appeal period.
That is correct. Market value is simply an opinion of value. There is no one correct answer. The value determined by our office is as of January 1st of each assessment year. The state of Wyoming has statutes and rules that this office must follow to determine the value of all properties.
Any property that is not real property; it is all moveable items not permanently affixed to or part of the real estate. Some examples of personal property are furniture and fixtures, such as desks, chairs, tables, couches, file cabinets, display counters, shelves, machines, computer equipment, software, phones, fax machines, copiers, oil field equipment, heavy equipment, etc.
March 1st of each assessment year. Forms are mailed in early December of each year. Information provided the previous year is included. Businesses are asked to make any additions or deletions and return the form to the Assessor. If there have been no changes, owners indicate so, sign and return the form. The reporting deadline may be extended to April 1st upon written request, provided that request is made no later than February 15th.
In Wyoming, land meeting the criteria for agricultural land classification is valued based on the land's productive capability under normal conditions. Landowners must complete a sworn affidavit stating the land has met the legal requirements for such classification.
Fair market value is only a portion of the formula for calculating the tax amount. The formula for determining actual tax dollars is as follows:
The level of assessment is the percentage of the market value that determines the assessed value. In Wyoming, the level of assessment is 100% for minerals, 11.5% for industrial use properties, 9.5% for all other property types. This percentage is determined by the Wyoming Legislation.
This is the number of dollars in taxes that a property owner must pay for every $1,000 of assessed value. The County Commissioners establish the total mill levy for each tax district based on budget requests from the various taxing entities within the district's boundaries.
In order to determine the mill levy for each tax district, taxing entities must submit their final budget requests. The budget, less anticipated revenues from non-property tax sources, is divided by the assessed value to obtain the tax rate or mill levy. Assessed values determined by the Assessor and values of state assessments (those industries valued by the Department of Revenue, such as utilities, minerals, etc.) are combined to determine the total assessed value within the taxing entities' boundaries. An individual assessed value is multiplied by the total mill levy for the tax district to obtain an individual tax amount.
They are the geographic areas on which a taxing entity has the right to levy taxes. These entities include school districts, counties, cities, water and sewer districts, fire districts or other specially formed districts as designated by state statute.
The State of Wyoming Legislature budgets funding to assist Veterans of foreign wars in paying property taxes.
Forms are available in the County Assessor’s office.
The exemption can be used in one of two ways, outlined as follows.
The exemption may be used on property tax and it reduces the assessed valuation by 3000 annually. The tax dollar amount varies depending on mill levy for tax district. Approximate amount $200. Eligible property must be owned by the Veteran and or Spouse as of January 1st.
Veterans must contact their local County Assessor’s office each year after January 1st or before the 4th Monday in May.
County fees for licensing a vehicle (not sales tax) may be reduced by 3000 assessed dollars (approximately $90) annually. More than one vehicle may qualify, not to exceed a total of $90 per year.
Title, registration, or expiration reminder showing the Veteran and/or spouse’s names is required prior to purchasing tags for exemption usage. New purchases must be titled before qualifying; leased vehicles do not qualify.
Any voter pick up their absentee ballot as early as 45 days prior to the election or any day after by visiting their county clerk’s office but not on Election Day.
Mailed ballots will be sent 45 days before the election to all voters who have requested that an absentee ballot be mailed. Absentee ballot requests received after 45 days will be sent as soon as possible. (Mail delivery within the county may take up to seven days, and longer if your mailing address is outside the county.)
Albany County has an absentee polling place that is located in the Election Building on the east side of the Courthouse. All qualified electors wishing to vote in person by absentee may vote at the absentee polling site. The absentee polling site will be open Monday through Friday 9 am to 5 pm. July 1, 2022 to August 15, 2022 for the Primary Election and September 23, 2022 to November 7, 2022 for the General Election. Please keep in mind that the absentee polling site is not open on Election Day. You must vote at your designated polling place on Election Day.
All Absentee ballots must be received in the county clerk’s office no later that 7 pm on Election Day. Ballots arriving after the deadline will not be counted.
Ballots may be returned to the county clerk in the following ways:
Your ballot can be retuned in person in one of the following ways
Contact your county clerk for information on the status of your ballot.
Albany County Elections Office525 Grand Avenue Suite 202Laramie, WY 82070
In short, it means that something life-threatening is happening and you should go indoors and get more information.
When the sirens are heard, seek shelter and tune in to local media/NOAA Weather Radio to get more information.
Sirens are an outdoor warning system designed only to alert those who are outside that something dangerous is approaching.
Sign up for Albany Countywide Alerts. In addition, every home and business should have a NOAA Weather Radio All-Hazards. NOAA Weather Radios are like a smoke detector for severe weather and can wake you up when a warning is issued for your area so you can take appropriate action.
Sirens are tested on the first Friday of each month at 10 am. These tests may be postponed if severe weather is in the area to avoid confusion if an actual event occurs.
People should be indoors and monitoring local media for updates on the storm.
The safest approach is to be proactive and use all of the information available to protect yourself and your family from threatening weather. Nothing can replace common sense. If a storm is approaching, the lightning alone is a threat. Sirens are only one part of a warning system that includes preparation, Albany Countywide Alerts, NOAA Weather Radios, and local media.
In Albany County, the Outdoor Warning Sirens are activated by Laramie/Albany County Records and Communications (LARC/Dispatch).
Yes, a marriage license must be obtained prior to getting married.
You may apply for a marriage license at the Albany County Clerk’s Office. You may expedite the process by filling out the Marriage License Information Form (PDF).
The marriage license fee is $30 dollars. Accepted forms of payment are cash, personal checks and debit cards that include a Personal Identification Number (PIN). (There is an additional $2 convenience fee for using a debit card.)
None. You do not have to be a previous or current resident of Wyoming to obtain a marriage license that is valid statewide.
No, you will receive your license immediately.
No, you can marry immediately after receiving your license.
No blood test or physical exam is required in Wyoming.
You must be 18 years old or older to marry without parental consent.
If either partner is under 18, parental consent forms must be signed and notarized. A Blank Affidavit of Parent’s Consent (PDF) is available through this website and at the County Clerk’s Office. The form may be notarized at our Office for a $5 fee.
Anyone under 16 years of age needs a court order before he or she can get married.
Note: Only one parent is required to give permission for the marriage.
Your marriage license is good for one year. If you do not get married within one year from the date issued, you will need to re-apply for another license. You may, however, request a reprint of an unexpired license.
No. The license is good anywhere in Wyoming. It is not, however, valid outside of the State.
View a copy of the Marriage License Information Form (PDF) as it lists all the information needed.
The Clerk’s Office will want to see a copy of your Driver’s License or other photo ID. In addition, we will ask for:
If previously married, the date of divorce or date of spouse’s death must be provided.
No, common-law marriages are not recognized in Wyoming.
Yes, same-sex marriages are allowed under Wyoming law.
Any ordained minister may conduct a marriage service in Wyoming and their names and telephone numbers can be found in the yellow pages of a phone book under "Churches." In addition, the following judges and justices may be available. You will need to make your own arrangements for an officiant.
After the officiant (a minister or judge) has completed the License/ Certificate and the witnesses have signed it, the form must be returned to the County Clerk within 10 days after the ceremony. Please use black ink to complete the certificate, and because handwriting is difficult to read, we ask that you fill out the Wedding Witness Information Form and return it with the Certificate to the Clerk’s Office.
Return "License and Certificate of Marriage" along with the Wedding Information Form to the County Clerk’s Office within 10 days of the ceremony.
You may request a Certified Copy of your Marriage License (PDF) from the Albany County Clerk by presenting the completed marriage license in person or by mailing it to the Clerk’s Office at the following address:
Albany County Courthouse525 E Grand AvenueSuite 202Laramie, WY 82070
The cost is $5.25. If requesting the Certified Copy by mail, please include the following information:
The Social Security Administration (SSA) requires you to submit Form SS-5, "Application for a Social Security Card," when you change your name. The form must be accompanied by a document that provides legal proof of your marriage, such as a Certified Copy of your Marriage License from the issuing agency. Please note, the SSA will not accept photocopies or notarized copies of the document.
The Social Security Administration form (PDF) is available online or by contacting:
Social Security Administration3001 E Pershing BoulevardSuite 140Cheyenne, WY 82001
In addition to the legal document proving your marriage, SSA will also need a document that proves your identity, bears your old name, and includes other identifying information or a recent photograph. The SSA will return your certified copy after they have processed your request.
OpenGov is a technology company based in Silicon Valley focused on building the most powerful financial intelligence and transparency platform ever created for governments. We are transforming how state and local governments analyze, share and compare their financial data.
To focus on specific data - like a fund, department, expense type, or any combination - use the menu on the left side panel.
The "Broken Down By" drop-down allows you to specify which breakdown you want the graphs and table rows to represent on the graph. You can analyze the expense and revenues data by fund, department, or type.
Yes. Use the Data Filter on the left side panel to make specific selections within the data. The Data Filter shows you the hierarchical relationships of Funds, Departments, and Account Types.
You’ll notice the title of the graph you are viewing on top along with the account type selector. You can use the filter to see the data of most interest to you.
Hover over any area of the graph to see the actual or budgeted amounts for that period. Or, just scroll down to see a table with detailed information under the graph.
In reviewing multiple years of data, you may see "spikes" in the individual years; this can be due to unexpected expenses, such as a hard winter, equipment failure, a capital project, or a specific event that required additional funds. You can drill-down into our OpenGov platform to learn more about where exactly those expenses or revenues are categorized.
Yes, there are Share and Download buttons in the upper right corner. You can share any view on a social network or by email.
There are also options to download the displayed data in.csv spreadsheet and.png image formats. Additionally, you can copy and paste the url at the top of the page you are viewing.
Use the Help menu on the top right corner to navigate to the "Budget 101" primer to learn more about multi-fund accounting.
Use the Help menu on the top right corner to navigate to the "Contact" option to send a message to your organization.
The purpose of the Casper Aquifer Protection Plan (CAPP) is the protect groundwater resources that supply Public Water Systems (PWS) and Albany County residents within the defined recharge area for the Casper Aquifer. The Casper Aquifer supplies approximately 50 to 60% of the City’s water supply depending on the time of year and 100% of the water to approximately 450 rural residences in Albany County.
To learn more about or view CAPP documents, visit our Casper Aquifer page.
Information on the Casper Aquifer Protection Plan (CAPP), as well as maps of the protection area, can be found on our Casper Aquifer page. The Planning Staff are also available to answer questions at 307-721-2568.
The following are some of the prohibited uses within the Aquifer Protection Overlay:
For a complete list, please see the Albany County Zoning Resolution (PDF).
Development within an overlay zone must meet the additional standards of the overlay, in addition to the underlying zoning standards. In other words, your well and wastewater system must comply with the requirements found within the Albany County Zoning Resolution’s Aquifer Protection Overlay Zone.
For more information, visit the Regulations and Zoning Map page.
In order to get an address, you must file a principal structure Zoning Certificate Application and pay the appropriate fees. Your address will be assigned and approved with your zoning certificate.
The county will not address vacant land, you must apply for a zoning certificate for a principal structure.
The County Addressing Coordinator will name a road when two or more properties share a common roadway. All addresses will be changed to the new named road. A change may also occur if the County Addressing Coordinator determines that naming the roadway to the property will aid emergency service responders.
In most circumstances, it is up to the land owners to name the road. If an agreement cannot be made, the County Addressing Coordinator will name the road. The proposed road name must not conflict with existing road names within the county (duplicate or similar sounding). The proposed name will also be checked against the Forest Service road name database.
The rural address is assigned to the centerline of the driveway accessing the property. This location cannot be changed after the rural address application has been submitted. If the driveway location is changed, you will be assessed a new rural address fee and assigned a new rural address. A flag can be picked up in the Planning Office to mark the centerline of the driveway.
Enforcement complaints may include, but are not limited to the following:
A nuisance is any use or non-use of property, real or personal which causes material injury to others or which presents a threat to the health or safety of Albany County citizens. The Nuisance section is Chapter VI, Section 7 on page 84 of the Albany County Zoning Resolution (PDF).
To file an enforcement or nuisance complaint you may fill out the Nuisance Complaint Form (PDF) and submit it to the planning office.
The Albany County Clean Up Day, which includes the waiving of fees for Albany County residents to use the Laramie Landfill, is usually scheduled in Late August.
The Board of County Commissioners, the Laramie Rivers Conservation District and the City of Laramie sponsor this event. The disposal cost of auto tires and old refrigerators are paid for by the sponsors.
Albany County does not have any building codes. However, if you wish to sell your property in the future, we recommend that you use a national building code standard.
Any land area susceptible to being inundated by water from any source. These areas are expected to become inundated with flood water at least once in 100 years (and possibly more often).
Information on Albany County floodplains can be found in the Flood Damage Prevention Resolution (PDF). Additionally, you may come into the Planning Office to see the Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRM) or you may come in and speak with the County Water and Wastewater Engineer, Barney Bisson.
If your property is located within a floodplain and you are planning to make changes (such as excavation or construction), you will need to fill out an Floodplain Development Application through the Planning Office. The County Planning Department is available to assist you with any questions you may have about this application.
The owner of the property can petition the Federal Emergency Management Administration (FEMA) for a “Letter of map change” where the property will be evaluated more extensively to see if an error is present.
If you have questions about floodplains, you may contact the Albany County Planning office, at 307-721-2568.
What you can do on your property depends on the planned use and what the current zoning is on the parcel. Please call 307-721-2568 or come into our office for specifics.
Visit the Permit Applications page for:
When applying for any permit, be sure to review the Schedule of Fees.
Setbacks and maximum height differ between different types of towers:
It is recommended that you talk to a planner in the Planning Office before you begin the subdivision application process. An applicant will need to have a professional survey completed. You will need to hire a professional engineer or surveyor to complete this process. Many engineering firms are familiar with our process and regulations, however, it is strongly recommended that you speak with a planner to determine what is required and how long the process will take.
For more information, contact the Planning Department at 307-721-2568.
Conditional Use Permits become void 1 year after they are granted unless put to use. If the permit has been abandoned for 1 year it becomes void.
The Notice Fee covers the notice expenses at the time of filing a development proposal. The Notice Fee is required for any application that is reviewed by the Planning and Zoning Commission.
Requirements vary depending on the permit. You can find the requirements on the permit applications and in applicable County Land Use Regulations. It is your responsibility to contact the Planning Office to get the specifics on each.
Access the appropriate applications on the Permit Applications page to learn more about specific requirements, or contact the Planning Department at 307-721-2568.
A wastewater permit is a written authorization issued by the County Water and Wastewater Engineer, which authorizes the applicant to construct, install, or modify the small wastewater facility. A small wastewater system is any sewerage system, disposal system or treatment works having engineering needs which is intended for wastes originating from a single residential unit serving no more than four families or which distributes two thousand gallons or less of domestic sewage per day.
For more information, view the Albany County Regulations for Permit to Construct, Install or Modify Small Wastewater Facilities (PDF).
A wastewater permit is required to ensure that the wastewater system is installed in the best location on the property and that it meets a number of county, state and federal requirements.
View the Wastewater Permit Application. Additionally, applications can be picked up in our office, located at 1002 S 3rd Street in the County Annex Building.
For any questions regarding the wastewater applications, an existing system or a proposed system, please contact the Albany County Planning office at 307-721-2568.
In order to receive authorization to begin a wastewater system, you (or your installer) must bring in the:
It is highly recommended that you call 307-721-2568 or email the Planning Department to schedule an appointment with the Wastewater Engineer when you wish to turn in your application.
If your property lies within an area designated as the Casper Aquifer Protection Overlay Zone (CAPZ), any septic field that is to be installed in that area will have to be designed by a Professional Engineer, licensed to practice in Wyoming and qualified to do such work. An electrical engineer, for example, may not have the requisite skills for this undertaking. The engineer should contact the County Water and Wastewater Engineer for guidance regarding what will be expected.
The wastewater application will be reviewed by the County Water and Wastewater Engineer and the applicant will be given permission to construct. At a later date, the County Water and Wastewater Engineer will schedule a time to approve the system before back fill.
Wastewater systems must be installed by a licensed installer in Albany County.
Property owners may install their own system under the guidance of the County Water and Wastewater Engineer.
A wastewater permit must be applied for if you are installing, repairing or modifying a small wastewater facility.
The wastewater system is determined by the number of bedrooms in the structure, as well as other criteria. For more complete requirements, please call 307-721-2568 or email the Planning Department to schedule an appointment with the County Water and Wastewater Engineer.
The wastewater system can be begun when the applicant’s application has been reviewed by the County Water and Wastewater Engineer and the applicant has received a permission to construct letter. The installer cannot backfill until the County Water and Wastewater Engineer has come out to the site and given his final approval of the system.
For domestic wastewater systems, with a flow of less than 2000 gallons per day, the following minimum isolation distance (in feet) shall be maintained:
Absorption systems shall not be located beneath buildings, parking lots, roadways or other similarly compacted areas.
For properties originating before 1997, the setback requirement was 10 feet.
Please refer to the Albany County Zoning Resolution or call the Planning Office at 307-721-2568 before beginning a project. These frequently asked questions are meant to be a guide, but are not the regulations. Some projects may require more than a zoning certificate.
A statement issued by the Albany County Board of County Commissioners that the proposed development is in compliance with the zoning regulation.
A zoning certificate is required for new uses, expansions of existing uses, conditional uses, or changes of use pursuant to Wyoming Statute § 18-5-203. Uses which require a zoning certificate are:
Access the Zoning Certificate Application. Applications can also be picked up in our office, located at 1002 S 3rd Street in the County Annex Building.
Zoning certificates are valid for two years from the date of approval. A one year extension may be granted, at the discretion of the County Planner, if substantial progress toward completion has occurred.
In order to have your zoning certificate processed, you must mail or bring in the:
Incomplete applications will be returned.
A deed, warranty deed, or a contract for deed can be used for proof of ownership.
The County Real Estate Office, located at 525 Grand Avenue, will have a copy of your deed. If out-of-town, you can call the Real Estate Office at 307-721-2547 and they can fax us a copy of your deed.
A site plan requires:
The Board of County Commissioners meet on the first and third Tuesday of each month. Your application must be received in the Planning Office by 5 pm, 14 days prior to the Board of County Commissioners Meeting in order to be on the earliest date.
You will receive your approved zoning certificate in the mail approximately one to two weeks from the date of approval.
County Zoning Regulations (PDF) require that a principal structure must be permitted or applied for in order for an accessory building permit to be approved. An accessory building is defined as any structure not used as a principal structure.
A late fee charge of $100 will be assessed for any construction begun prior to approval from the Board of County Commissioners.
New construction and estimated building costs are reported to the Wyoming Center for Business and Economic Analysis, Inc. and the U.S. Census Bureau.
It is strongly recommended that you obtain your zoning certificate and wastewater permit at the same time. If you are building on a small lot, this is highly recommended to insure that the proper location for the septic field can be determined.
Access the Wastewater Permit.
Construction can be begun as soon as your zoning certificate has been approved. Dirt work can be started prior to approval.