Membership in the Wyoming Retirement System is required for all full-time and part-time employees with benefits. All employees hired on or after August 1, 2015 will contribute towards the cost of their retirement.

o   Law Enforcement 17.2%

  • 3.73% employee
  • 13.47% employer

o   Hired Prior to August 1, 2015 16.62%

  • Albany County contributes all 16.62%

o   Hired After August 1, 2015 16.62%

  • 2.305% employee
  • 14.315% employer

o  Fully vested after four years

o  Only found in Wyoming

o  Includes a disability provision after contributing for ten years if under age 60

Employees will be auto-enrolled in this plan and if you do not wish to contribute you will have 30 days from the end of the month in which you were hired to opt out. You will receive a letter from deferred compensation with instructions to opt out or change your contribution. The rate of investment is $20 or 3%, whichever is greater.

Albany County has established an Employee Assistance Program to assist benefited County Employees and their dependents. This program provides confidential access to health professionals to assist employees with any type of emotional distress. The program provides access to a network of specially selected professionals that practice in Laramie and Cheyenne. The Employee Assistance Program can help with everyday stressors and difficulties  experienced in and out of the workplace. These stressors can affect your life and have an impact on your well–being. 

Albany County wants to help provide resources so that County Employees and their families can quickly and conveniently get in touch with a qualified provider. These services are in complete privacy! County employees and their dependents will be provided up to three sessions each per calendar year, at no charge. If  additional services are, needed you may use your health insurance benefits and each of the providers listed will accept your insurance.  To contact one of the qualified providers, please visit http://wyeap.org/albany/ for more details. You do not need a referral and this will remain strictly confidential. 

If you are an Albany County employee with a physical or mental condition that you feel hinders your ability to successfully perform the essential duties of your job, you may request an accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).

 

The following steps give a general outline of the accommodation request process:

1. Contact Human Resources at (307) 721-1835.

2. Human Resources will give you the ADA Medical Documentation Request form to submit to your health care provider who will complete the form and return it to Human Resources.

3. Human Resources, based on the ADA Medical Documentation Request form, will determine whether you have a disability as defined by ADA, and notify you of the decision.

4. Your supervisor will be notified of your specific request for an accommodation. He or she has the authority to comment if he or she feels the request is reasonable.

5. If your supervisor has concerns about your request or feels that it is not reasonable, Human Resources will schedule and attend a meeting with them and you to clarify your request or explore potential accommodation alternatives.

6. You will be notified once a final decision is made regarding your accommodation request.

7. If an accommodation has been granted, the arrangement will be monitored for effectiveness.

 

Requests for modifications to the accommodation and additional accommodations can be made through Human Resources.

The Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) is a federal law that requires employers to notify employees of certain qualifying family events or medical conditions under the provisions of the Act. The Act requires Albany County to designate all qualifying leave. Please view the Employee Handbook  to review the full policy.

FMLA -Frequently Asked Questions

REQUEST FOR FMLA - SELF Certification-Employee

REQUEST FOR FMLA – FAMILY MEMBER Certification-Family Members

FITNESS FOR DUTY Fitness for Duty

The County may provide employee and family coverage in group medical, vision and dental insurance to all eligible employees.

 

BlueCrossBlueShield $1000 Deductible Plan

Employees have 30 days to enroll from date of hire. The coverage starts the 1st month after 45 days of hire date. If this coverage is waived or dropped you will need to wait until the next open enrollment period and/or have a qualifying event. To learn more about this option please view $1000 Deductible Summary

BCBS 1000:                                                                          EMPLOYEE          EMPLOYER          TOTAL

                EMPLOYEE ONLY                                                  $196.21              $866.54             $1062.75

                EMPLOYEE + DEP                                                 $368.00              $1354.20           $1722.20

                EMPLOYEE + SPOUSE                                           $446.18              $1686.47           $2132.65

                EMPLOYEE + FAMILY                                            $591.10              $2201.01           $2792.11

 

BlueCrossBlueShield $2600 Deductible Plan

Employees have 30 days to enroll from date of hire. The coverage starts the 1st month after 45 days of hire date. If this coverage is waived or dropped you will need to wait until the next open enrollment period and/or have a qualifying event. To learn more about this option please view $2600 Deductible Summary

BCBS 2600:                                                                          EMPLOYEE          EMPLOYER          TOTAL

                EMPLOYEE ONLY                                                  $36.80               $866.54             $903.34

                EMPLOYEE + DEP                                                 $109.66             $1354.20           $1463.86

                EMPLOYEE + SPOUSE                                           $126.29             $1686.47           $1812.76

                EMPLOYEE + FAMILY                                            $172.28            $2201.01            $2373.29

 

Vision Plan (VSP)

Employees have 30 days to enroll from date of hire. The coverage starts the 1st month after 30 days of hire date. If this coverage is waived or dropped you will need to wait until the next open enrollment period and/or have a qualifying event.

VSP:                                                                 EMPLOYEE

                EMPLOYEE ONLY                              $8.24

                EMPLOYEE + SPOUSE                       $16.15

                EMPLOYEE + CHILD(REN)                 $17.26

                EMPLOYEE + FAMILY                        $27.39

VSP Brochure

VSP APPLICATION

 

Delta

Employees have 30 days to enroll from date of hire. The coverage starts the 1st month after 30 days of hire date. If this coverage is waived or dropped you will need to wait until the next open enrollment period and/or have a qualifying event.

DELTA:                                                                                  EMPLOYEE

                EMPLOYEE ONLY                                                   $31.90

                EMPLOYEE + SPOUSE                                            $72.80

                EMPLOYEE + CHILD                                               $79.20

                EMPLOYEE + FAMILY                                             $114.55

Delta Dental Brochure

Delta Dental Enrollment Card

Workers’ Compensation is for any work-related injury and needs to be handled immediately. Here are the steps necessary to file a workers’ comp injury with Human Resources.

  1. Please seek medical attention (if needed) as soon as possible;
  2. Advise the physician or hospital that you are employed by Albany County and that you were injured on the job;
  3. Notify your Department Head or Elected Official;
  4. Complete a Worker’s Comp Report of Injury Form and submit to Human Resources for processing.

Workers' Compensation Injury Report